5 Things No One Tells You About Wedding Dress Shopping

Follow my blog with Bloglovin


Good news: I said yes to the dress! After years of growing up and watching wedding shows on TV, I can’t believe it was finally my time to pick the wedding gown of my dreams. While I ended up finding the dress for me, I was taken aback at how many little surprises popped up during the try-on process.

things no one tells you about wedding dress shopping
source

1. Your party might not be honest.

When I went dress shopping, I brought my mom, my future mother-in-law, and two of my aunts and cousins. I was so excited to have my closest female relatives with me on the special day. When I came out in the first dress (which wasn’t the cutest on me), I was expecting to hear some constructive criticism about the style of the dress. Instead, I heard a soft “Oh, that’s pretty…” and “That’s nice…” I could tell by the lack of genuine enthusiasm that my party simply wanted to say things that might make me happy instead of being honest.

Ask your party to be honest with you, because you will need their valuable input about which dress(es) they favor over others!

2. Your “dream dress” might not look the same on you as it does on your Pinterest board.

When I was set free to pick out dresses to try on, I knew exactly what I wanted: A-line silhouette, sweetheart neckline, pleated criss-cross bodice. When I actually tried on such a dress, it did not flatter my body at all.

Be open-minded. Choose dresses in a few different styles, even ones you never imagined yourself in. This way, you can avoid disappointment. Which brings me to #3…

3. You might feel disappointed or have doubts.

After trying on “dream dress” after “dream dress,” and having zero luck, I began to feel disappointed. I doubted that I would ever find a dress that looked halfway decent, much less one that I loved.

Even after I did find a dress, I still had doubts about whether or not there was a better dress out there for me. I wondered if I was settling, or if I actually loved the dress, when truly, the dress I chose was perfect.

Once you find your perfect dress, stop looking. You did it! Focus on being happy about your choice instead of wondering what could have been.

4. You might choose a style that you never imagined would suit you.

Like I said, I tried on about 5 variations of the dress I had always imagined myself wearing, only to hate how it looked on me. After trying on about 8 dresses, my consultant went off to find one last gown for me to try on. When she brought it back, everyone (including my quiet party) made a disgusted face… it didn’t look very pretty. But, when I slipped into it, it looked and felt amazing. I felt stunning in it, and I didn’t want to take it off! Needless to say, it came home with me!

Again, be open-minded and trust your bridal consultant! You might get the surprise of a lifetime.

5. You might cry.

I never thought of myself as one to cry over a dress. But, when I finally tried on the one, I took one look in the mirror, said “Wow,” and broke into tears. Maybe it was the built up doubt that I wasn’t ever going to find a dress, or maybe it was the element of surprise. Nonetheless, I cried.

When I stepped out of the dressing room to face my family, I finally revealed true emotion and saw it in the faces of my loved ones. We all shared a moment of absolute bliss, and at that moment, I knew that I had found the dress for me.


I wish all of you brides-to-be the best of luck finding a dress that’s perfect for you!

What does your dream wedding dress look like? Did you choose a dress that you would have never imagined? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

