The Easiest Way to Save Money on Your Wedding

Weddings today are not cheap. In fact, I’ve read that the average wedding costs around $25,000. If you’re like me, you might find it difficult to swallow the idea of spending so much money on a one-day event. Luckily, while planning my wedding, I learned a simple way to save tons of money on my celebration.

The Easiest Way to Save Money on Your Wedding

The easiest way to save money on a wedding is by having it on an off-day or during the off-season. Off-days are Fridays, Sundays, or any day that is not a Saturday, while the off-season is typically considered to fall between the months of December-March.

The reason these times are cheaper is because most people get married on Saturdays and during a nice month of the year, rather than on a random weeknight or during a cold, snowy, or rainy month. Therefore, vendors often offer discounts in order to attract business during the slower times of the year!

This is one of the main reasons why my fiance and I are planning a Sunday wedding. The area where we have saved money has been through our reception venue, which offers a 50% discount for off-day events. While planning, we also came across photographers, caterers, and DJs who offered discounts ranging from $200 to $1,000 for off-day or off-season celebrations. Combine all of those discounts and you could save hundreds, even thousands, of dollars on your wedding!


What’s the easiest way you found to save money on your own wedding? I’d love to hear! Let me know in the comments.

 

7 thoughts on “The Easiest Way to Save Money on Your Wedding

  1. Fake flowers! Having a winter wedding- we paid about $25 for my bouquet using fake ones. I was curious how much a real one would be so I asked a florist at HyVee, she said if I wanted a basic bridal bouquet with the roses and lilies I currently have it would run me anywhere from $50-$120!!

    Like

      1. I’ve heard this works too!! I heard you have an awesome maid of honor who would love to help and is excellent at arranging flowers 💁

        Like

  2. I never even thought about having my wedding on an off day like a Sunday, it totally makes sense! I got married at the end of June 2015, we had a small wedding I would say and did a few non-traditional things. One of the ways we saved money was by using a local grocery store for flowers. They did my bouquet, boutineer, and bunches of baby’s breath (thank you pinterest) for the table arrangements all for $50!! I loved planning and budgeting for my wedding, if you need any ideas just let me know!

    Like

Leave a Reply

