What’s Your Mission Statement?

Have you ever considered your purpose? What you hope to achieve through your work? What the point of your blog is? What message you want to convey through the life you live?

I was recently at a professional development seminar where we created mission statements for ourselves as teachers. There, I realized that having a mission statement can drive  and center everything that you do. It can drive your work ethic, your blog, or even your personal life.

My blog’s mission statement reads, “to nurture and inspire an appreciation for the details in everyday life.” My mission statement has helped me center the content that I hope to create for my blog. I hope to use this blog as a place to practice and inspire the art of slowing down and taking time to embrace the small things in life–the things that will help readers become their best selves. Therefore, whenever I am writing content for this space, I keep this mission statement in mind.Mission statements can create an enhanced sense of purpose and help you become more mindful of your actions. Are you ready to create your own mission statement?
Mission statements can create an enhanced sense of purpose and help you become more mindful of your actions. Are you ready to create your own mission statement? Here are some questions to ask yourself as you get started:

  • What is your purpose?
  • What is important to you?
  • Why do you do what you do?
  • What do you hope to accomplish?
  • What words or phrases inspire you?
  • What words or phrases embody your essence?

 

Over the course of writing this post, I’ve decided that my personal mission statement is “to spread joy and embrace presence one day at a time.” To me, this statement embodies my hope share positivity with those in my life, and it captures my desire to find presence daily. It also means that each day is a new beginning, a new chance to grow my essence and make an impact.


I hope you consider crafting a mission statement for some aspect of your life. Let it capture your unique sense of self, and let it make you more mindful of every choice you make.

18 thoughts on “What’s Your Mission Statement?

  1. Fabulous post – especially for the new year when so many people are reflecting on and rethinking their purposes. When I first started blogging, the first thing I did was sit down and write out my mission statement because I think it’s important to declare your purpose and be reminded of it at all times. The purpose of LiveLifeWell is to inspire women to be well dressed, well educated, and well traveled and I hope that I’ve accomplished that in the short time that I’ve been blogging.

    Happy New Year,
    Allison

    Like

  2. I would love to come up with a mission statement for my blog and to hone in on a more specific niche. I do believe that having a mission statement for ourselves in our own lives is also a really great idea. I may try to come up with one for myself for this year!

    Like

  3. I’m not sure about my blog mission statement (although I should probably figure that out!) but my life mission statement has long been “embrace.” I try to embrace every experience, even the bad ones as you can learn from them.

    Like

  4. I really enjoyed this post! My blog has a missions statement, but I wrote it quite awhile ago and I should probably revisit it to make sure is lines up with my blog’s purpose well. I love yours!
    Alesha ❤
    aleshablessed.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

