If We Were on a Coffee Date

Something about coffee brings people together. I used to go on coffee dates with my friends all the time. It was a great way to catch up and get a glimpse into their lives.

For the same reasons, some of my favorite posts to read are the simple ones that talk about daily life. Sometimes, it inspires me to make a change. Other times, it helps me see that we’re all in this crazy life together.

Today, I thought I’d share some things that we might talk about if we were on a coffee date. Neely did a post like this a few months ago, and I loved the idea. Grab a cup of coffee and enjoy!

Coffee Talk

If we were on a coffee date I’d order an vanilla (or cinnamon) iced coffee with cream. Typically, I’d order with with soy, but I hear it’s bad for you. I haven’t done any research on the effects, but I’m still cutting back.

If we were on a coffee date I’d ask to try a sip of your order. Whenever I see people with coffee, I love to know how they’re drinking it. Coffee can be very unique to the individual, and I find it intriguing to know what other people go for.

If we were on a coffee date I’d ask you if anything exciting is happening in your life. I’d smile and laugh as you told me all about life’s latest adventures.

If we were on a coffee date I’d talk to you about my job and how unfulfilling it can feel at times. Sometimes I worry about the fact that I went to school for 4 years and put myself thousands of dollars in debt to live a life doing something that can be so mentally and physically exhausting (in the worst way).

If we were on a coffee date I’d tell you that I’m looking for a new job. I want to continue teaching, but I’m open to trying new things.

If we were on a coffee date I’d recommend the book I’ve been reading. It’s called Big Magic, and I’m sure you’ve heard of it. It’s all about living a creative life and exploring your passions. I like to read a few sections every time I need a boost of inspiration.

If we were on a coffee date I’d wonder what you’re reading. Reading is one of my favorite hobbies, and I love reading other people’s favorites.

If we were on a coffee date I’d gawk about the beautiful weather we’ve been having. It’s supposed to be in the high 60s all week! My mood is a thousand times improved when I can let the springtime air in through the classroom window.

If we were on a coffee date I’d confess that I haven’t been very good at keeping up with my March mantra. Part of me thinks fear is holding me back. Fear of failure. Fear of not being a good writer. I’m trying not to let that hold me back.

If we were on a coffee date I’d mention how excited I am for the rest of this month. Every weekend is going to be packed with excitement! I’m going home one weekend, I’m traveling to Iowa to visit my best friends, and my fiance’s family is visiting us for Easter. So many beautiful moments are just days away!

If we were on a coffee date I’d leave you with a smile and a hug and ask if we could do this again sometime.


What would you say if we were on a coffee date?

8 thoughts on “If We Were on a Coffee Date

  1. I love to know how people drink their coffee too. Vanilla or cinnamon iced coffee sounds great. I’d actually never heard of that book. I’ve recently been reading a young adult novel, which you can read a review of if you hop over to my blog (not meaning to sound spammy but you asked).

    Like

  2. I love coffee dates! I’d order a coffee with cream + 2 pumps of vanilla. I’m currently reading The Cuckoos Calling and it’s good so far, but I’m only a few chapters in. My month of March is jam packed with weddings and events for a wedding in April!

    Like

  3. I love coffee dates! I have not been on one in awhile though. I typically order a caramel frappuccino but sometimes I switch it up. I’m currently reading Why Not Me by Mindy Kaling. After I get done reading that I plan on reading Leave Your Mark by Aliza Licht. I also feel that at times I wasted my time going to school and not doing what I really love. It sucks. I have often thought about getting a new job. So hopefully we both will be able to figure out something in the job market soon.

    Like

  4. I know it’s customary to comment on a blogger’s most recent post but this old one caught my eye — it’s such a clever idea that unearths real truth. I cherish coffee-dates and find them to be infinitely fulfilling. Great piece.

    Like

Leave a Reply

