My Favorite Fitness Tools

I’m going to take a minute and pat myself on the back because, for the first time ever, I have actively pursued a fit lifestyle for an entire year. Typically, I’m on a fitness kick during the summer months, but that falls flat during winter. However, this year, I got myself a gym membership and I got some sort of work out in multiple times a week. I even started lifting!

During this journey, I’ve grown to love a few different fitness tools that I thought I’d share with you today. Some of them I’m sure you’ve heard of before. But, I hope some of them are new and inspiring to you.From fitness trackers, to radio, to mindfulness, these are my top 5 favorite fitness tools.

MyFitnessPal |Β I’ve used this app on and off for the past 3 or 4 years when I’ve felt like I needed to keep better track of my caloric intake. This app makes it so simple to see how much I am really putting into by body versus how much I really need. I love that it lets me scan barcodes so that I’m getting the most accurate nutritional information. It helps me make better decisions regarding food and exercise, and it keeps me on track to reach my weight goal.

RunKeeper | This is the best running app I’ve found, by far. I have the settings adjusted so that a voice notifies me of my pace after every mile. Not only does this let me know how much farther I need to run, but it keeps me reaching for my goal pace. Plus, this app keeps all of your activities recorded under your account, just in case you want to look back and check your progress. You can also record walks, bike rides, hikes, and more. Another fun tool is that it allows you to add friends and cheer for each other; whenever I see that my dad finished a run, it motivates me to get out there, too.

Stitcher |Β While some people listen to music during workouts, I prefer listening to podcasts. Podcasts give me something to focus on and, in a way, they take my mind somewhere else. Before I know it, my workout is almost done! Stitcher is a free app that has loads of podcasts about many topics. Some of my favorites are Serial and Elise Gets Crafty.

Yoga with Adriene | When I don’t have time (or I’m too lazy) to make it to the gym, I love to do yoga instead. Yoga with Adriene is a YouTube channel full of free yoga routines. Adriene has short and long routines, as well as practices that focus on different parts of the mind and body. She is all about “finding what feels good,” so you’re sure to find a yoga practice that suits your needs on any given day. Some of my favorite videos are Feel Alive Flow and Yoga For Anxiety and Stress.

Calm |Β If you’ve been around for a while, you know that I’m a sucker for meditation. I believe that it’s important to not only strengthen your body, but to strengthen your mind. Calm is an app that I use a few nights a week to meditate. It helps me center my thoughts and calm my mind before settling in for the night. I’d highly recommend adding meditation to your fitness routine if you’re itching to find a little more inner peace.


 

What are you favorite fitness tools? I’d love to try more!

8 thoughts on “My Favorite Fitness Tools

  1. Love these apps! You’re definitely doing better than me. I said I was going to start working out this year but that definitely never happened.

    Like

  2. I’ve heard of my fitness pal, but never used it. I admit, I’m pretty lazy when it comes to fitness. Once the weather really warms up, I want to go on more walks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

