What’s Your Personality Type?

Have you ever wondered about your personality type? I’m a sucker for tests that tell me more about myself, so when I was asked to take this personality test for marriage counseling, I was all for it! I think it’s important to learn more about who you are and what that means about your outlook on the world. Doing so can help you discover new ways to make yourself, and those around you, happier.

According to 16personalities.com, I am an INFJ. What does that mean?

It means I am introverted. It means I am a dreamer. It means I trust my heart. It means I am a planner.

Here are some quotes about INFJs that I feel describe me well:

  • “INFJs are not idle dreamers, but people capable of taking concrete steps to realize their goals and make a lasting positive impact.”
  • “INFJs indeed share a very unique combination of traits: though soft-spoken, they have very strong opinions and will fight tirelessly for an idea they believe in.”
  • “They tend to believe that nothing would help the world so much as using love and compassion to soften the hearts of tyrants.”

 

infj-personality-type
from 16personalities.com

 

Strengths

My results claim that I am creative, insightful, inspiring and convincing, decisive, determined and passionate, and altruistic. I agree with just about all of these. It’s encouraging to see that my results label me as creative, because I often doubt myself in that area.

One thing that stood out to me was that, when it comes to being determined, they said “INFJs will rock the boat if they have to.” I 100% agree that I am willing to stand up for what I believe in, even if it makes things more difficult.

Weaknesses

My weaknesses include the fact that I am sensitive, a perfectionist, private, I always need to have a cause, and I can burn out easily. I never considered myself a perfectionist, but I certainly believe that I always need to have a cause.

My results said “INFJs like to know that they are taking concrete steps towards their goals, and if routine tasks feel like they are getting in the way, or worse yet, there is no goal at all, they will feel restless and disappointed.” I feel like this explains my current, lackluster feelings about my job. Day after day, I leave work feeling unfulfilled, and my future in this career looks very blurry. I am taking steps toward my goals, but as of right now, they are impossible to be considered “concrete.”


Overall, I feel like these results gave me an accurate insight into how and why I look at the world the way I do. My biggest takeaway for now is the knowledge that I need to have a cause; this explains why I feel so unhappy with my career. It has inspired me to take steps down a more fulfilling path.

Did you take the test? What did you learn about your personality type? Let me know in the comments!

 

 

Leave a Reply

