Get to Know Me

Hello and Happy Monday! I hope you had a fabulous weekend and first day of May. I can’t believe May is already here. This month marks the end of my first year as a teacher. The year went by so fast! May also means that June is creeping up on us…only 5 more weeks until the wedding!

Last week, I realized that, while I’ve been consistently blogging for a few months now, I haven’t blogged a whole lot about me. Some of my favorite posts to read are the ones that let me get to know the person behind the blog. So, today, that’s exactly what I’m doing! Here are a few facts about me. Enjoy!

Some of my favorite posts to read are the ones that let me get to know the person behind the blog. So, today, that's exactly what I'm doing! Here are a few facts about me. Enjoy!

I have a degree in English. As long as I can remember, I’ve been fascinated with books. When I was young, I had a huge closet filled floor to ceiling with books. As I grew older, I started appreciating the art of writing. So, I decided I wanted a degree in English!

I am a high school English teacher. I think it’s only natural that my love for literature turned into my career path. To me, literature describes the essence of what it means to be human. I love showing students that literature holds valuable, universal lessons.

I grew up in Wisconsin. Ah, the land of beer, brats, bubblers, and bowling. I live in Ohio now, and I miss my home state with every fiber of my being. Go Pack Go!

Yoga has opened my eyes to a more purposeful lifestyle. When I first moved to Ohio, I went to a yoga class at my gym; my instructor was just finishing her RYT certification and she was fantastic. She taught me that yoga is more than just sequenced movements, but it is a way of life– a life of intent, purpose, and presence. Being in her class has truly changed my perspective on life.

I’m currently drafting a novel. Eek! It’s weird to write those words down. All my life, I’ve wanted to write a novel. Now, it’s happening! Slowly, but surely.

My fiance and I fell in love in Paris. We met in high school, but didn’t really hit it off until a class trip to Europe. As we roamed the streets of Paris together, I could tell he was a keeper. I remember thinking to myself, “I cannot let this person slip out of my life.”

I love going out to breakfast. You don’t even have to ask me if I want to go out to breakfast. Just stuff me in the car and drive. Bacon, eggs, and pancakes, please. Oh, and a bottomless up of coffee.

I could eat pizza every day for the rest of my life. I’m so lucky to have found a life partner who appreciates pizza as much as I do. Honestly, he has taken it to a new level and, for that, I’m eternally grateful! I will never say no to pizza for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

My go-to coffee beverage is a vanilla iced coffee with cream. Always a grande. Light ice, please.

My favorite novel is The Great GatsbyThe symbolism, the diction– be still my heart! Besides being the most beautifully written books I’ve ever read, it’s also one of the most heartbreaking. Every time I read it, it gets better.

My favorite  movies include The Last Five YearsAbout TimeMidnight In Paris, and just about any Disney movie, but Hercules  and The Little Mermaid are my favorites. Even though I have favorite movies, I really don’t like watching movies or TV.

I invited Aaron Rodgers and Olivia Munn to my wedding. Fingers crossed that they’ll show up!

What’s one fun fact about you? Let me know in the comments! I hope you enjoyed getting to know me!

 

14 thoughts on “Get to Know Me

Leave a Reply

