Spread Love and Kindness | Lessons Learned From My Students Vol. 2

Tomorrow marks the last day of my first year as a teacher. While I’m sooo excited for it to come to a close, I can’t help but admit that I will miss my students over the summer. My students have grown so much since last August, and they teach me new lessons every day. However, out of all the lessons I’ve learned this year, I think the one I’m sharing with you today is most important.

The recurring mantra in my classroom this year has been simple: be kind. Why? Because kindness and love spreads like wildfire. And who couldn’t use a little more light in their life?

My classroom is, quite honestly, a dumping ground. It is where the school sends students that they have given up on. It all starts at home, where they have unsupportive and abusive parents. Then, they come to school, where they have unaccepting teachers who don’t have the patience to accommodate their intricate personalities. But that’s exactly the problem: everyone has given up on them, so it’s no surprise that these students have given up on themselves, too.

The recurring mantra in my classroom this year has been simple: be kind. Why? Because kindness and love spreads like wildfire. | www.emwritesblog.wordpress.com

That’s why, every day, I make it a point to greet my students at the door with a smile and start each day fresh. Even if they cussed me out the day before. Even if they treat me like the scum of the earth. Even if they are resistant, defiant, and rude. They will always be loved in my classroom. 

It can be difficult to be kind to some of these students, especially when they are insolent or threaten to physically harm you. But persistence has show me that, if you refuse to give up on them, they will eventually show you respect. But, more importantly, they will have a more positive outlook on life.

Since August, my classroom has undergone a transformation. No longer are my students a group of rowdy, tough, stubborn kids. They are now respectful, friendly, hardworking young adults. Laughter is shared, smiles are frequent, and kindness is valued. This goes to show that, when you show a person that you care about them, it makes a world of a difference in their life.

Go do something kind today. May your day be full of light and love.

7 thoughts on “Spread Love and Kindness | Lessons Learned From My Students Vol. 2

Leave a Reply

