Craving Fall

It seems to me that, around this time every summer, I begin to crave fall.

Yesterday, the temperature was in the 60s, as opposed to the hot and humid 80s we’ve been having. The air was cool and light. I sat outside reading, a cup of coffee in hand, a sweater covering my chilled legs. It was a refreshing afternoon.

Though I love summer, I just can’t seem to get fall off of my mind. It’s a season of transition and excitement. I think that’s why I love it so much: it fills my heart. I can’t wait for those brief, beautiful months filled with little delights…

Craving Fall | www.emwritesblog.wordpress.com

Pumpkin pie

Apple orchards

The smell of spices in every store

Jeans and boots

Leggings and tunics

Chai tea lattes

Apple cider

Bonfires

Warm reds, oranges, and yellows

Crisp air

The sound of wind ruffling the leaves

The excitement of holidays just around the corner

But, I can’t forget to embrace the present. If I’m only looking toward the future, I’ll forget to enjoy the here and now.

Summer is going to pass us by so quickly, as it always does. So, for now, I’ll embrace every sunny day, every blue sky, every day by the pool, every tan line, every sunset walk, every late night ice cream trip that I can get my hands on. Because summer certainly has its perks, too.

8 thoughts on “Craving Fall

Leave a Reply

