Creative Ruts Don’t Exist

Earlier this week, John and I were grocery shopping when he asked me the question, “Where do you see yourself in 20 years?”

The question made my heart thump and me knees weaken. And I said the first thing that came to mind: “I want to be a published author,” I said, “but I feel like I’m in a creative rut right now.”

His next words surprised me. “There’s no such thing as a rut. The only rut is the one you fabricated yourself,” he responded. I stopped dead in my tracks. “Look,” he continued, “if you  want to be somewhere in 20 years, you have to start today, not 20 years from now.”

Are you in a creative rut? You might just be holding yourself back. | www.emwritesblog.wordpress.com

I’ve always considered myself as one of the most driven people I know. I have big dreams and goals, and I pride myself on the hard work I’ve done to reach such loft heights in the past. However, lately I’ve felt stuck. But, my conversation with my incredible husband reminded me of something very important: all that I need is already within me.

If I want to be a writer, I must write. I am the only one capable of bringing to life the story that lies within me. And when I feel like I’m in a rut, I must remind myself that creative ruts do not exist. No, they are simply poor excuses for not persevering beyond the challenges I face. In choosing not to write, I am choosing to give up instead of pressing on.

Start chasing your dreams today | emwritesblog

And the same goes for you. Think of that dream that you have – the one that you just can’t seem to reach. Why is that so? Is it fear? Lack of reward? Too much work? Don’t know where to start? These are all excuses that are invalid. If there is something you want to accomplish, the only thing standing in your way is yourself.

Want an example? This week, Helene announced that she and her husband quit their jobs, sold nearly all of their possessions, and are moving abroad next month. Talk about an inspiration!

So press on. Let Helene’s story and today’s words serve as inspiration for you to realign your intentions and see your dreams from a new perspective. I challenge you to make one step toward your goal today, no matter how large or small it may be. Research, make time, set intentions, talk to a friend. Just remember that all that you need to reach those great heights already rests within you.


Where do you see yourself in 5 years? How do you plan on getting there? 

 

14 thoughts on “Creative Ruts Don’t Exist

  1. You are so right! I started writing a book at the beginning of the year and let so many things and excuses get in my way. It’s time to pick it back up!

    Like

    1. Go for it, Emily! I find that, when writing a book, the most difficult part is finding the words that will move your story toward its intended path. That’s how I often get stuck! But, if you just keep writing, eventually, everything will fall into place.

      Like

  2. I feel like I’m not in a rut exactly, but I’m definitely unable to act on my creative impulses. I’m just too busy… Working two jobs and managing a full-time blog as well… It’s just exhausting and I can’t keep up or find the time to do anything else…

    Like

  3. Thanks for the gut punch! It was exactly what I needed to hear, I have been putting some major things off for poor excuses and this is a great motivator to keep moving forward! Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

