5 Healthy Ways to Cope with Anger

As much as we may try to stay peaceful and happy in this world, sometimes, anger happens. Whether you had a bad day at work or you’re simply in a funk, anger is never fun. Over the years, I’ve learned a few ways to cope with those displeasing days. Today, I’m sharing a few tips that have helped me control my occasional anger and get back to what’s important – living a happier life.

Healthy Ways to Cope with Anger | www.emwritesblog.wordpress.com

Allow Yourself to be Angry

Plot twist: it’s totally okay to be angry over something. Sometimes, we get so determined not to be upset that we push away those feelings before properly digesting them. This can lead to boiling resentment that blows up in the long run, which is no good!

By acknowledging the fact that you’re angry and understanding the underlying reasons for your anger, you will be able to cope in a healthy manner and move on when you’re ready.

Let It Out

Sometimes, when I’m angry, all I want to do is talk to someone about it. However, someone isn’t always available, or I don’t want to burden others with my bad moon. In these cases, I turn to my journal.

Open a notebook, or a Word doc, or grab a napkin or a old receipt and write. Writing about how you feel will allow your to process your emotions freely, without fear of judgement. It is one of the safest spaces for you to let your feelings fly and work through your emotions. Again, this will also help you understand the reasons for your reaction and can lead you to possible solutions.

Do Something You Love

One of the best things to do when you’re angry is remove yourself from the situation. Instead of dwelling on whatever is riling you up, focus your energy on something that fills your heart. Taking time to invest in yourself is a great way to clear the mind and rejuvenate the soul on a bad day.

Practice Gratitude

When all seems to be going wrong, take a moment to focus on what is going right. Think of the things you’re grateful for in this world. Maybe you’re angry with your job, but thankful for the opportunities and income it brings you. Maybe you’re not feeling today, but still thankful for the sunny weather outside.

Practicing gratitude puts your situation into perspective and helps your realign with what’s important. Your spirits will lift immensely.

Find Presence

Finally, my favorite way to de-stress, no matter what my mood may be: find presence. When I’m angry, my mind races. However, embracing the present moment always helps me settle my thoughts and find my footing once again.

There are many ways you can find presence, such as through yoga or meditation. But, one of the most simple and effective ways is through breathing. Close your eyes and take 3-5 long, deep breaths. InhaleExhale. When you open your eyes, you’ll feel a greater sense of calm.


There you have it: some of my personal favorite ways to deal with anger. Hopefully your days are filled with nothing but joy! But, on the occasional bad day, I hope you’re now equipped with some useful tools to help you sort through your emotions.

How do you cope with anger? I’d love to know your strategies!


8 thoughts on “5 Healthy Ways to Cope with Anger

  1. I do sone of these. I love yoga after a long day at work, which is usually everyday, haha. When I’m at work and I get angry I go outside for fresh air and take a couple breaths.

    Like

    1. Pet therapy! Honestly, there’s something about the unconditional love that pets give you. When I was in college, they’d bring therapy dogs in during finals week to help students cope with stress.

      Like

Leave a comment